# Lismore Floodplain Risk Management Committee Minutes 29 February 2024

# MINUTES OF THE LISMORE FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 29 FEBRUARY 2024 AT 1:00 PM

Please note: These minutes are subject to confirmation at the next Council meeting. Decisions recorded in the draft minutes are subject to the Council's Code of Meeting Practice in relation to rescinding decisions.

#### Present

Cr Rob (appointed Chair), Cr Elly Bird (via audio-visual), Cr Vanessa Ekins (arrived at 1.10 pm and left at 3.30 pm), Mr Andrew Logan, Ms Elena Palamara, Mr Scott Moffett, Mrs Leisa Blok, Mr Bill Moorhouse, Mr Eber Butron

#### In Attendance

LCC Officers: Mr Jewell, Senior Strategic Planner, Miss Hull, Executive Assistant to Chief Community Officer

Presenters: Ms Amy Mouafi (via audio-visual), NSW Reconstruction Authority, Jamie Simmonds – NSW Reconstruction Authority, Dr Jai Vazi – CSIRO (via audio-visual) and Mark Page - Engeny

Observers: Mrs Beth Trevan (via audio-visual), Simon Mumford (Lismore app)

# **Apologies**

Councillor Jensen, Mr Graham Askey, Mr Toong Chin, Mr Col Baker, Mr Graham Askey

## Non Attendance

Cindy Roberts

# Lismore Floodplain Risk Management Committee Minutes 29 February 2024

## **Confirmation of Minutes**

**RESOLVED** that the Minutes from the meeting dated 6 December 2023 were confirmed

(Councillor Rob/Member Moorhouse)

Voting For: Councillors Rob, Ekins and Bird; Members Logan, Moorhouse,

Blok,

Voting Against: Nil

### Disclosure of Interest

Councillor Rob disclosed he had designed the images in agenda item 5.4.

#### 5.1 CSIRO - Northern Rivers Resilience Initiative update

**RESOLVED** that the Committee notes the presentation provided by Jai Vaze, CSIRO.

(Member Moorhouse/Councillor Rob)

Voting For: Councillors Rob, Ekins and Bird; Members Logan, Moorhouse,

Blok,

Voting Against: Nil

#### 5.2 Lismore 2022 Post Flood Event Analysis Report

**RESOLVED** that the Committee notes the report and presentation provided by Mark Page, Engeny.

(Councillor Ekins/Member Logan)

Voting For: Councillors Rob, Ekins and Bird; Members Logan, Moorhouse,

Blok,

Voting Against: Nil

# Lismore Floodplain Risk Management Committee Minutes 29 February 2024

#### 5.3 Update from NSW Reconstruction Authority

**RESOLVED** that the Committee notes the presentation provided

(Members Blok/ Logan)

Voting For: Councillors Rob, Ekins and Bird; Members Logan, Moorhouse,

Blok.

Voting Against: Nil

#### 5.4 Update to Council's flood information documents

That the Committee recommend Council:

- update its Flood Levels and History of Lismore flood events documentation and present to the next FRMC meeting
- 2. liaise with SES to update the Last Roads Out information

(Members Moorhouse/ Logan)

Voting For: Councillors Rob and Bird; Members Logan, Palamara, Moffett,

Moorhouse, Blok,

Voting Against: Nil

#### 5.5 Change of name of Committee

That the Committee recommend Council:

- rename the Floodplain Risk Management Committee to the Flood Risk Management Committee
- 2. update the Terms of Reference of the Committee accordingly

(Members Moorhouse/ Blok)

Voting For: Councillors Rob and Bird; Members Logan, Palamara, Moffett,

Moorhouse, Blok,

Voting Against: Nil

# Lismore Floodplain Risk Management Committee Minutes 29 February 2024

## Closure

This concluded the business and the meeting terminated at 3.47 pm.

## **Additional Notice**

Councillor Ekins left the Lismore Floodplain Risk Management Committee meeting on Thursday 29 February 2024 after agenda item 5.3, meaning we no longer had a quorum and therefore items 5.4 and 5.5 will be deferred to our next meeting.